BWA Logo Bar AWGB link

BWA Competitions

Annual Competition

There are two main competitions run within Berkshire Woodturners.

The "Turner of the Year" and the "Keith Sherwood Trophy".

The rules for these two competitions are described below.

Additional Competitions

Additional competitions might be run as part of the Christmas Special or the Club Open Evening. These will generally be appropriately themed items which will be turned on the night generally against the clock. Judging is usually done by consensus among the members present.

Turner of the Year Rules

1. The competition is open to all members of the association.

2. There will be two categories in the competition:

    OPEN - this can be any item turned by the member.

    THEME - the committee will determine the themes for each month at the start of the year.

2017 beginners winner

3. The idea of the prescribed theme is to encourage members to try techniques, perhaps, outside their experience or comfort zone and thus improve their versatility.

4. The Open competition allows the member free rein to turn anything that takes their fancy, there is no restriction in terms of wood, shape, size or finish.

5. Only ONE item can be entered in EACH of the two categories. Any item submitted for a competition in either the theme or open categories cannot be entered again in any future competition apart from the Keith Sherwood trophy.

6. The membership is organised into three standards, Beginners, Advanced and Master. New members must provide evidence of their work (at least two items) to be inspected by a panel of committee members so that the appropriate entry level can be determined.

2017 Advanced Turner of the Year

7. Each competition category will be judged in these three standards.

8. The main demonstrator of the meeting will be invited to judge the competition. Failing this a panel of experienced members of the association will be asked to perform this task.

9. Entries will be judged and awarded first, second, third, fourth or fifth places. If the standard of the entries are deemed not to warrant a first category the judges can issue a second or third place as felt appropriate. This will apply in particular for categories with only one or two entries.

10. Competition points will be allocated 10 for first, 9 for second, down to 6 for fifth place. All other entries will automatically receive 4 points.

2017 Masters Turner of the Year

11. Progress from the Beginners to Advanced, and Advanced to Master will be made at the end of the current year if the individual member has accrued a total in excess of 70 points IN THE THEME CATEGORY ONLY. In the following January all Beginners, Advanced and Masters points will revert to zero.

12. For the MASTER category the theme points will be continually aggregated as a matter of interest only.

13. There will be an annual Turner of the Year award. A trophy will be awarded to the member accruing the highest total number of points from BOTH the theme and open categories of the competitions. Some form of recognition for all top performers in the individual Theme categories will also be made.

14. The Turner of the Year will receive a small cash prize of value determined by the committee with regard to the current financial situation.

2017 Turner of the Year

Keith Sherwood Trophy Rules

1. The competition is open to all members of the Association.

2. There is only one winner and only one prize.

3. Members may enter any one item they have turned. This can include an item entered into the Turner of the Month Competition.

4. Each item entered will be displayed within its relevant skill category.

5. Entries will be judged by those members present. Each member, including those that have entered the competition, will have one vote in each category.

6. The votes will be weighted based on the number of entries in each category. Once the weighting has been taken into account, the Keith Sherwood Trophy will be awarded to the member who turned the item that achieved the most votes.

7. The preceding rules may be modified at any time at the discretion of the committee.

2017 Keith Sherwood Winner

Competition Standings

Situation following the November Club Meeting

The situation shown in the following tables represent the final standings for the 2017 BWA Club Competition

Note: Only those who have scored points are listed.


Stephen Evans produced a consistent high standard throughout the year. Malcolm Cleaver and Keith Mosley peaked towards the end of the season, while Jack Johnson and Rob Legge started the year off well but pressure of work (well someone has to!!) told towards the end of the year

51114Stephen Evans   109107968    108  101098
6288Jack Johnson  99  888 10 8 1099     
2774Keith Mosley     10      109710109   9
3865Malcolm Cleaver           109 9710   1010
2846Rob Legge      10 101088          
2144Leigh Pawson9    7 7      8 67    
030Lee Forester 10 8 6               6
927Matt Petch     8 109             
2525Peter Brooks10       6 9           
825Justyn Fowler           9    88    
1019Chris Hamblin  10      9            
1818Les Alexander            10 8       
1616Mike Dyer      9 7             
010Gerry Pascall             10        
88John Underwood8                     
07Shirley Hays                     7


In the end it was a close run thing with only two points separating Chris and Colin in the race for the top spot.

Totals TurnerJan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov 
4687Colin Burge10787 8  10 99        910
3885Chris Cox98910101010  10   9        
3669Viv Mitchell    10787910   9      9                           
1056David Brownhill 9   9     10 8  10    10
1533Keith Hufton81078                  
1827Dave Blundell    9        9  9     
713Sid Dodd76                    
09Peter Rickards   9                 


Peter Osborn was the run-away winner in the Masters Section. As well as producing some exceptional pieces Peter managed to enter something each and every month throughout the year.

106197Peter Osborn10899108109101010101099108910910 
4482Harvey Grimwood8108  10910  10      8  9 
4271Charlie Hayes6 9  9  9       910 109 
3365Tony Taylor7910887      88        
4252Terry Stephens9  109 8     7 9       
935Jason Taylor   7    99   10        
1010Richard Maynard                10